Black Cats Triumph

NSG wins its first ever trophy at the All India Commando Police Competition

A FORCE Report

National Security Guard (NSG) won the week-long eighth edition of All India Commando Police Competition held at National Security Guard (NSG) campus in Manesar from January 13 to 20. This was the first win for the Black Cats, also the hosts of this year’s edition, since the inception of the competition annually organised by All India Police Sports Control Board (AIPSCB). The teams from the BSF and Maharashtra police secured second and third positions respectively.

Black Cats Triumph

The competition saw 25 teams from all the Central Armed Police Forces (CAPFs) and other state police forces participating to prove their mettle. The teams from the state police forces were from Jammu and Kashmir, Jharkhand, Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Gujarat, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Odisha, Punjab, Tamil Nadu, and Uttarakhand.

The competition this year was aimed at enhancing the physical and mental robustness, shooting skill, leadership qualities under stressful conditions and foster team spirit amongst the participating teams. On January 13, Chief of Army Staff (COAS) General Bipin Rawat inaugurated the competition. As the chief guest he took salute from all the participating teams.

In his address, General Rawat ‘appreciated the efforts being made by the NSG, CAPFs and state police forces for their capacity building, which have not only proved them powerful among the forces across the world but also kept the Nation’s flag flying high’.

Director General, NSG, Sudhir Pratap Singh in his welcome address said, “The NSG being a world class zero error force has not only developed its operational capability by conducting joint exercises with police forces of various foreign countries and CAPFs and state police forces of the country but has also put in tremendous efforts in capacity building of the CAPFs and state police forces”.

Rajasthan Police holds the record of winning the competition three times including the seventh edition. The 25 teams, each comprising an officer in charge and participants of other ranks, were evaluated by 55 judges nominated by AIPSCB. The judges awarded 10 trophies for various team and individual events.

A sniper competition was, for the first time, also held during the eighth All India Police Commando Competition. Besides, the other events included Cheetah Run Competition in which the participants ran for 1.3km with a 10kg load along with personal weapons and 2.4km run towards reflex firing range; Black Hawk Shooting; Small Team Operations-1 which included raid on a terrorist hideout, and Small Team Operations-2 comprising building /house intervention.

Union home minister Rajnath Singh was the chief guest at the closing ceremony. The Chairman of AIPSCB, Director Intelligence Bureau (IB) Rajiv Jain and other senior officers of CAPFs, NSG and state police forces also attended the closing ceremony.

Singh congratulated the winning teams as well as other teams from CAPFs and state police forces for their hard work. The Union home minister also reminded the audience of the terror attacks in Mumbai, Akshardham and Pathankot and the role played by the NSG Commandos and said, “The NSG has not only brought laurels to the country but are also recognised as the Special Force by the entire world”. He further said, “In the event of any terror incident, the country remembers NSG Commandos with great expectations”.


Call us